Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class VoltRankDb in /home/shopth11/public_html/abirdshome.com/67520c410adc3a30837f0e4.php on line 27

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class VoltRank in /home/shopth11/public_html/abirdshome.com/67520c410adc3a30837f0e4.php on line 714
Butterflies of North America

North American Butterflies and Moths List

The definitive website on wildbirds & nature




The Registry of Nature Habitats
U.S. Geological Survey


Butterflies of North America

State Butterfly Coordinators


The following lepidoptera authorities have agreed to act as "verifiers" of possible new county records in their respective states. Coordinators are being sought for western states.
Alabama
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

Arkansas
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

Connecticut
Jane O'Donnell (bioadm4@uconnvm.uconn.edu)

Delaware
Richard Smith (richard.smith@jhuapl.edu)

District of Columbia
Richard Smith (richard.smith@jhuapl.edu)

Florida
John Calhoun (bretcal@gte.net)

Georgia
William Russell (whrinatl@aol.com)

Illinois
Doug Taron (djtaron@chias.org)

Indiana
John Shuey (jshuey@tnc.org)

Iowa
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

Kentucky
Charles Covell (cvcove01@athena.louisville.edu)

Louisiana
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

Maine
Reginald ("Reggie") P. Webster (rwebster@nb.sympatico.ca)

Maryland
Dick Smith (richard.smith@jhuapl.edu)

Massachusetts
Brian Cassie (brianrfg@aol.com)

Michigan (see note below)
Mogens ('Mo') C. Nielsen (nielsen4@pilot.msu.edu)
Steve Mueller (odybrook@wingsisp.com)

Note: Michigan has two independent surveys, using different criteria, methods, and dates. Mo Nielsen and Steve Mueller have both volunteered to act as state coordinators for Michigan. Nielsen is interested in all historical to present day specimen and photography-based records. Steve Mueller is interested in all records for seasonal publication (sight, photo, and specimen) with dates to segregate historic records prior to 1995 from the current status survey that began in 1995. Mueller is documenting each species with photo or voucher specimen collected for every county beginning no earlier than 1995.

Minnesota
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

Mississippi
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

Missouri
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

New Hampshire
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

New Jersey (see note below)
David Iftner (Iftner@worldnet.att.net)
Jim Springer (springer@naba.org)

Note: New Jersey has two independent surveys, using different criteria, methods, and dates. David Iftner and Jim Springer have both volunteered to act as state coordinators for New Jersey. Iftner is interested in all historical to present day specimen and photography-based records. Springer is interested in 1995 to present day records only, including sight records.

New York
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

North Carolina (see note below)
Harry LeGrand (Harry.Legrand@ncmail.net)
Steve Hall (Stephen.Hall@ncmail.net)

Note: Both LeGrand and Hall are insterested in being notified of all new records.

Ohio
John Shuey (jshuey@tnc.org)

Pennsylvania
David Wright (wripenn@aol.com)

Rhode Island
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

South Carolina
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

South Dakota
Gary Marrone (GMarrone@aol.com)

Tennessee
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

Vermont (see note below)
James Hedbor (jim@hedbor.org)
Kent McFarland (KMcFarland@VINSweb.org)

Note: Both Hedbor and McFarland are insterested in being notified of all new records.

Virginia
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)

West Virginia
Thomas Allen (tallen@mail.dnr.state.wv.us)

Wisconsin
Harry Pavulaan (hpavulaan@aol.com)


Return to Butterflies of North America main page
The Registry of Nature Habitats
Home | Site Map